Head Down…Tail Up

It was May 31st when I slid the envelope into the post-box. Inside was my first submitted short story. I had laboured for hours, head down, tail up, going over and over it, making it as perfect as I could. For the first time in my life, I followed instructions to a T. Every step of the guidelines, I followed. Weeks went by. Two weeks more than the expected response time.

“What if it never arrived?” I wondered, as another week sailed by. Still, I sat and I waited. And waited. And then, two months to the day after I slipped my story into the post, an email arrived. My heart skipped a beat as I clicked on the link. I am happy to announce that my story was accepted for publication by The School Magazine. It will be published in the months to come. My first submission, ever. Published. At last.  It’s amazing what happens when you follow instructions.

6 thoughts on “Head Down…Tail Up

  1. You should be so proud – I knew it was only a matter of time before someone stumbled upon and seized your writing genius 🙂 Congratulations of a publication so well deserved. Love and light, Carls xoxo

    • Thanks, Carls,

      I’m proud more of the fact that I had a go. And that it paid off. It just proves to me that I can do it if I put my mind to it. XOX

  2. Congrats, Lynn! I’m so proud of you. The School Magazine is tough to get into – I know people who’ve been trying for years. It’s a huge achievement. Can you confess what the story is about? Its genre? Any little hint? 🙂

  3. Thanks, Kath,

    I am still smiling. It’s so nice to achieve something like this. Especially first shot at it. It made the rewrites and time I spent on it so worth it. The working at it was such a great lesson in itself. It has taught me that perseverance and hard work is what makes it all work. Even though it’s early days, it is so encouraging and makes me want to try even harder and commit even more to the craft.

    The story is about a boy and a dog…and the importance of speaking the truth. I will let you know when it’s due out. I was told it is at least six months away.

    Talk soon XOX

Leave a Reply

