An Evening with Shane Thamm

IMG_0030On the eve of the CYA conference in Brisbane,  a group of us headed to Avid Reader Bookshop for the launch of Shane Thamm’s YA debut novel  ‘My Private Pectus’. We arrived to a packed Avid, standing room only. I managed to weave my way through the crowd for a prime seat on the front step. It was the perfect position to listen to Shane as he read us an excerpt from the book. It was one of the best readings I have ever heard at a launch. He stood confident and read with such passion and intensity – I was lost in the world he delivered.

His book brings to light the condition of Pectus Excavatum, a medical term for hollowed chest. Pextus Excavatum is the most common congenital deformity of the anterior wall of the chest, where the ribs and the sternum grow abnormally.  This produces a caved-in or sunken appearance of the chest. It sometimes develops with puberty and can affect cardiac and respiratory function as well as cause considerable discomfort and pain, particularly psychological pain. Coming from a paediatric medical background, I have seen the stress that this condition causes not only for the child but also the parents.

I love that this book gets a condition like this out in the open.  I have my copy on my “To read” pile and it’s approaching the top of the pile. I am looking forward to reading it. It was lovely to meet and talk with Shane at the launch and great to see him at the CYA conference the following day. He is delightful.  My Private Pectus is published by Ford Street Publishing (www.fordstreetpublishing.com)

To learn more about Shane visit: www.shanethamm.com

2009-04-10a

Shane signs copies of My Private Pectus

IMG_0032

Reading an excerpt

IMG_0038

Signing my copy

5 thoughts on “An Evening with Shane Thamm

Leave a Reply

