Things To Do Before You Grow Up

 

Being a writer allows you the freedom to experience anything. If you want to do something – you simply conjure a few characters, add a problem or two, whack in some research and voilà…you’ve  pretty much experienced it. If only it were that easy.

Creating believable worlds and the characters that inhabit them is fun but at the same time, hard work. Whilst inspiration is everywhere, sometimes it appears only fleetingly and lingers only briefly. Sometimes, you need a little help from your friends.

As I journey through the first draft of my novel, I am noticing a pattern. It links to my reading habits. When I’m not reading, I’m not writing as much. When one pool runs dry, it isn’t long before the other empties as well.

I came across a book the other day. A big red book of inspiration. In it is 1001 stories that I must read before I grow up. It’s jam packed with fodder for any ailing reading habit, covering stories from the early 1700s to modern day.

Each page offers information about the author, illustrator, publisher, awards given, and general theme of the book. There is also a brief rundown of the story. It might take me 1001 days to get through the book and I’m not sure if I’ll get to read the 1001 stories before I grow up- but I’m going to give it a go. If nothing else. it will give me at least 1001 ideas and endless inspiration to keep on writing.

2 thoughts on “Things To Do Before You Grow Up

  1. Wow, that looks great! I have the ‘adult’ version and when I am stuck for a reading idea I pull it out and read a classic. One good thing about having a baby is that I get to re-read all my favouraite children’s books (and watch kids’ movies!) I can’t wait til she is old enough for Enid Blyton…

    Dawn

  2. Hi Dawn,

    It’s like 1001 worlds within a world. It makes me appreciate how wonderful the human mind can be and it makes me think how sad the world would be without children’s stories. For me, there is nothing more beautiful to read or create.

Leave a Reply

