I'm making a list. I'm checking it twice…

Despite the silly season being upon us, it’s that time of the year for me. Time to reflect on the year that has passed, acknowledge achievements, identify areas that need more focus. It’s also time to plan the year to come.

For 2010, I wish to be organised with no excuses to lag behind on my writing commitments. Tonight I sat and planned my writing goals for 2010. Month by month, I worked a plan to keep me on track and achieving all year around. I’m a bit of a list girl, so this strategy should work well.

Setting goals was a tip I picked up from a QWC project management workshop I did with Dr Monique Beedles. With firm goals in place, I am less likely to stray from the goals I have set for myself. And it feels good to be organised, too.

Much of this year was wasted away because I wasn’t as focused as I could have been. Not having a firm plan in place saw me straying away from what needed to be done.  Working full time and committing to a writing life is tricky but it can be done. Part of getting it done is making the time to set my goals for the coming year. And I think it will take some of the hard work out of the process, as well as give me a list of achievements to look back on.  With a predetermined focus in place, I just need to follow the plan. I’ve made the list, and I’ve checked it twice. It’s up on the wall and ready to rule.  Bring on twenty – ten. I’m ready!

What writing goals do you have planned  for 2010. I’d love to hear all about them.

2 thoughts on “I'm making a list. I'm checking it twice…

  1. Good on you Lynn! Sounds like the perfect plan. I love setting goals, but to be honest I haven’t even considered next year yet. I might do it in the new year once things have settled down.

    My goals tend to be project specific, but I can never tie them to specific months. I know I’d also like to work on promotion and developing my ‘brand’, so doing some talks and practising my presenting skills. Hmmm … you have me thinking now. I may do a goals post soon…

  2. Thanks, Kath – yep – the plan is up. Now the trick is to follow it! Hope your goal setting goes well. It’s a great exercise just thinking about all that potential.

Leave a Reply

