The Girl Who Lived

My baby lay slumped in a corner of the room. I had ignored her for weeks and feared perhaps this time she might really be dead. I’d been tired and lethargic. Couldn’t focus. I had neglected her for so long. We’d been through this cycle for months. We were on again, off again, like a couple of co dependent lovers. It took a short spell in hospital over the Easter weekend to make me realise the error of my ways. Where I was going wrong. After so many questions I finally discovered the truth. A small invisible source was destroying my world. Its name was gluten.

In a bid to regain my life, I banished bread and all things baked. For the first few days I ate real food. Fruit, vegetables, meat. Nothing more. Slowly, I stocked the shelves with gluten free this and wheat free that, one eye cast on the lounge room corner, hoping my baby might stir just for a moment. It was several days before the miracle happened. As if by magic, the fog in my brain started to lift. My energy returned. My enthusiasm romped home wearing bells and whistles.

And then the most miraculous thing of all – the other night, my baby’s toes wriggled and her head lifted toward me and her mouth opened ever so slightly. She was calling me. My precious YA manuscript was back from the dead. And so was I. I reached down for her, and I pulled her into the light and watched as she squinted and blinked and wrinkled her margins in protest. I smoothed her crumpled edges and I whispered softly how sorry I was. I promised her this time would be different. And I think she believed me for she has let me reshape her, beginning to end. The two of us, no longer in sickness but now in health. We are back in business, my baby and I. She is the girl who lived.

16 thoughts on “The Girl Who Lived

  1. Hi Lynn
    I have the same problem. I went gluten free over 2 years ago and have never felt better. That was a great post. I’m glad you are back to your YA novel. They are a challenge but worth it. Good luck with it.
    Elaine:)

    • Elaine – isn’t nice to discover the reason and then be fortunate enough to fix things so simply. I’m really grateful I only have to make a few food choices to make myself better. It’s great to back working at the book again.

  2. Hello Lynn,

    Love the way you write, and really enjoy your blogs.

    I too have to follow a gluten free diet, but sometimes I cheat and then I feel like ….

    There is so much wheat in our food,in just about everything, even icing sugar, not the pure one of course, but the mixes. I think it’s horrifying that we are being overwhelmed with wheat. l
    love bread, and gluten free bread is awful, more of a punishment than a bread.
    I eat lots of fruit and vegetables and some meats, but sometimes you just want to lash out and have a treat. I suppose chocolate’s all right,or that got wheat in it too?

  3. What a beautiful illustration, Lynn. You are so clever and talented.

    Ah, The gluten monster.

    I am sensitive to wheat, yeast and red foods. (tomatoes, chillis,peppers)

    I went wheat free about 12 years ago, but can now have a little again. Last year I went yeast and tomato free and it has cleared a chronic skin condition.

    I hope you have similar success. I remember all too well the foggy brain and headaches.
    Angela

    • Thanks, Angela. That’s a huge compliment because I LOVE your work and am inspired by you.

      Yes – evil wheat. I’m steering clear. I can’t believe how many people are sensitive to wheat and wheat products. Amazing! I’m definitely feeling the benefits already.

Leave a Reply

