Silo 21

Today was a perfect Brisbane day. It was a day where I met with fellow illustrators to steep deeply in conversation that was all about ink and colour, art and inspiration. Something quite magical happens when creative folk huddle. A magical force takes hold and it brightens my world.

So many creative pursuits see us working in silos. Long hours of solitude teasing images from our minds. Wrangling the beast onto paper or screen is always a challenge but somehow when I hear others share their tales of creative woe, I no longer feel quite so cut off. It’s like reuniting with the tribe. They speak my language. They face similar trials. We celebrate each others triumphs and I come away healed of the nagging doubt fed by isolation. I’m so fortunate to be part of this group.

Leave a Reply

